Shopping Cart
Shopping Cart

Esperanza Spalding - Radio Music Society

Product Details
Product Code: HUI-33762-01

Esperanza Spalding Radio Music Society on Limited Edition 180g 2LP + Video/Audio Downloads

It has not taken Esperanza Spalding long to emerge as one of the brightest lights in the musical world. Listeners familiar with her stunning 2008 debut, Esperanza, and her best-selling 2010 release, Chamber Music Society, were well aware that the young bassist, vocalist and composer from Portland, OR is the real deal, with a unique style-spanning presence, deeply rooted in jazz yet destined to make her mark far beyond the jazz realm. That judgement was confirmed in February of 2011 when Spalding became the first jazz musician to receive the Grammy Award for 'Best New Artist.'

Radio Music Society is her most diverse, ambitious and masterful recital yet. The set is a companion, rather than a sequel, to Spalding's previous release, which reached #1 on the Billboard Contemporary Jazz Chart. "Originally I thought it would be fun to release a double album," she explains, "One disc with an intimate, subtle exploration of chamber works and a second one in which jazz musicians explore song forms and melodies that are formatted more along the lines of what we would categorize as 'pop songs.' Those are the two things that really interest me, and it intrigues me to think about different presentation approaches while writing each kind of song. On the pop song side, I think about listeners who aren't into jazz, but I also think about the people within my musical community who can interpret each idea best."

Esperanza Spalding Radio Music Society Track Listing:

1.  Radio Song
2.  Cinnamon Tree
3.  Crowned & Kissed
4.  Land of the Free
5.  Black Gold (ft. Algebra Blessett and Lionel Loueke)
6.  I Can't Help It (ft. Joe Lovano)

1.  Hold On Me
2.  Vague Suspicions
3.  Endangered Species (ft. Lalah Hathaway(
4.  Let Her
5.  City of Roses (ft. Q-Tip)
6.  Smile Like That

Submit Review

Please complete the information below and it will be displayed on our website once it has been reviewed by a member of staff.

0 1 2 3 4 5

Can't read the words above? Try different words, or listen to the audio. Help!
Can't hear the numbers? Try different numbers, or look at the image. Help!